After the Miniconf and during LCA2010 in Wellington, I was approached by diverse people.

Some have notable careers: had a long chat with Paul McKenney (IBM’s Distinguished Engineer working on Linux kernel at IBM in Oregon), had lunch with Giusseppe Maxia (MySQL community leader at Sun-Oracle, based in Italy) and even shared a breakfast in the airport lounge with Bdale Garbee (Open Source CTO at HP).

But it was also big fun when I was largely lectured by hardcore developers and engineers from diverse organisations including Google and Canonical who despite my claims of ignorance about some deeper details of certain areas of Parallelism, they considered that after having successfully organised the miniconf I earned my right to be properly educated.

I felt “initiated” and welcomed by a clan that is not particularly known by being unnecessarily polite 🙂

Three sentences that I remember from some of my anonymous new friends (why geeks don’t carry business cards!!?)

– “Your miniconf was a success: just attending it made worthwhile my trip from Australia”
– “You can be really proud mate, you created a community. We needed someone that gathered all this diverse people”

-“While you were at the conference dinner at Te Papa, about at least 15 guys from the miniconf -presenters and attendants- were drinking for hours in a local pub”
– “This guy from Intel was really good and showed a deep knowledge of parallelism: what does he at Intel?” (if the previous comments humbled me, this one was also satisfactory because another goal was achieved. It was a challenge to present a speaker from the industry in a way that gathers attention for what he says not for whom he works for). By the way, “the guy” was James Reinders, Director of Software Products from Intel…

I managed to upload some photos of the Miniconf, if you have more, please send them!

